USST announces 2004-2005 freestyle team{mosimage}Eleven skiers who have won World Cup events, including Toby Dawson (winner of three moguls contests last season)and reigning world champion Jeremy Bloom, head a 42-athlete U.S. Freestyle Ski Team for the 2005 season, program director Polly-Jo Clark announced.

The group, which consists of 20 men and 22 women includes four Olympic medalists. One athlete named is Rachael Pack, younger sister of Olympic aerials medalist Joe Pack. At age 12, she becomes the youngest athlete ever named to any U.S. Ski Team.

Dawson won bronze medals in moguls and duals at the 2003 World Championships at Utah’s Deer Valley Resort and enjoyed a breakout season in ’04. He not only won three events but finished second overall in the World Cup moguls standings as he and his teammates filled four of the top five places, six of the first eight. Bloom, the 2002 World Cup champion, was dual moguls gold medalist at the 2003 world championships at Deer Valley and silver medalist in moguls; last season, he earned the fourth World Cup victory of his career and was third in the World Cup moguls standings.

The 2005 U.S. Freestyle Ski Team (* – indicates World Cup winner):


A Team
David Babic* (23; Washington, VT; moguls)
Jeremy Bloom* (22; Loveland, CO; moguls)
Travis Cabral* (20; South Lake Tahoe, CA; moguls)
Toby Dawson* (24; Vail, CO; moguls)
Joe Pack* (26; Park City, UT; aerials
Nathan Roberts* (22; Park City, UT; moguls)
Ryan St. Onge (21; Fraser, CO; aerials)Luke Westerlund (26; Breckenridge, CO; moguls)

B Team
Eric Bergoust* (34; Missoula, MT; aerials)
Travis Mayer (22; Steamboat Springs, CO; moguls)
Jeret Peterson (22; Boise, ID; aerials)

C Team
Lance Field (22; Boulder, CO; aerials)
Brady Johnson (24 on April 27; Littleton, CO; moguls)
Bryan McCormack (18; Cape May Court House, NJ; aerials)
Fred Mooney (23; Tabernash, CO; moguls)
Michael Morse (23; Duxbury, MA; moguls)Tim Preston (20; Campton, NH; moguls)Wes Preston (23; Campton, NH; aerials)
Ryan Riley (24; Steamboat Springs, CO; moguls)
Matt Saunders (24; Lakewood, CO; aerials)


A Team
Shannon Bahrke* (23; Tahoe City, CA; moguls)
Hannah Kearney* (18; Norwich, VT; moguls)
Kate Reed (20; Montrose, CO; aerials)
Michelle Roark* (29; Denver, CO; moguls)
Laurel Shanley (21; Squaw Valley, CA; moguls)
Emiko Torito (21; Steamboat Springs, CO moguls)
Jillian Vogtli (30; Ellicotville, NY; moguls)

B Team
Emily Cook (24; Belmont, MA; aerials) Kelly Hilliman (26; Tonawanda, NY; aerials)
Sharlee Strebel (18; Layton, UT, aerials)

C Team
Katy Bodzioch (18; Dunstable, MA; moguls)
Christina Craddock (20; West Newton, MA; aerials)
Jessica Davis (20; Tahoe City, CA; moguls)
McKenzy Golding (17; Reno, NV; moguls)Hannah Hardaway* (25; Moultonborough, NH; moguls)
Ali Levy (19; Denver, CO; moguls)
Jana Lindsey (19; Black Hawk, SD; aerials)
Jaime Myers (22; Boise, ID; aerials)
Rachael Pack (12; Park City, UT; aerials)
Jill Priest (32; Park City, UT; aerials)
Shelly Robertson (25; Reno, NV; moguls)
Lacy Schnoor (18; Draper; aerials)

“This is a very strong team in a world championships season. I’m excited about the season because we have the best moguls team men and women in the world,” Clark said, “Toby, Jeremy, Olympic medalists Travis Mayer and Shannon Bahrke, Hannah Kearney who won two events last season in her first full year on the World Cup, and Babic and Roberts scored their first wins this past winter…

“We’re making strong progress in aerials as well. Eric Bergoust, a former Olympic, world and World Cup aerials champion, is returning. He’ll rejoin Joe Pack, Ryan St. Onge and ‘Speedy’ [Jeret Peterson] to give us a solid men’s aerials team again. We know Kate and Kelly are going to be upgrading their jumps this summer…and we’ve got some young talents starting to emerge. As I said, this is a strong team,” Clark said.

As the first pre-teenager named to any U.S. Ski Team in any sport, Rachael Pack overtakes Reed, who was 14 when she was named to the 1999 Ski Team. She had overtaken St. Onge, who also was 14, but was 20 days older when he was named to the ’98 Ski Team.

Article Tags: Uncategorized

What do you think?


May 3 2004
High-flying sweethearts Camplin, Omischl are SR freestyle winners
Apr 27 2004
Alyeska wrap-up: Andre Horton retires; Alyeska plans expansion

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This