Image Credit: GEPA

After a World Championships at home, there will be 27 women and 20 men who will represent the Swedish Alpine National Team in the 2019-20 season. Some familiar names are already at the top, but also some new faces that look forward to taking further steps in their development. The selected squad gives the Swedes strong opportunities for achieving results while building for the future, says the alpine boss Tommy Eliasson Winter.

“An exciting squad in which I look forward to seeing how the girls can take the additional step in the 2019-20 season,” said Women’s Head Coach Lars Melin. “In the World Cup last year there were many who showed their speed and I hope that we can continue to develop in that direction so that additional skiers can establish themselves in the absolute top. In the European Cup and not least Junior World Championships, we had great success last year and it is a strong generation of skiers in the talent tube that we look forward with excitement to how they will develop.”

“In the coming season, we want to focus the competition in the men’s team, a targeted investment to really make an effort to make the most of the generation shift we are in,” added Men’s Head Coach Fredrik Kingstad. “It feels extremely inspiring that Andre Myhrer and Matts Olsson will continue their efforts, both because they are riders in the absolute top layer, but also as two natural leaders and inspirations on the technology side. On the junior side, it is a wonderful print in the system where we saw great progress both at the individual level and as a group as a whole during last year and it will be exciting to follow that development. We are really looking forward to the coming season.”

The Women’s Team – 27 riders

Training Group 1
Estelle Alphand, Åre SLK
Anna Swenn-Larsson, Rättviks SLK
Emelie Wikström, IFK Sävsjö
Sara Hector, Kungsbergets AK
Magdalena Fjällström, Tärna IK Fjällvinden
Ylva Stålnacke, Kiruna BK
Charlotta Säfvenberg, UHSK Umeå SK

Training Group Speed
Lisa Hörnblad, High Coast AK
Lin Ivarsson, Åre SLK
Helena Rapaport, Mälaröarnas Alpina SK
Ida Dannewitz, Uppsala SLK

Training Group 2
Sara Rask, Sollentuna SLK
Elsa Håkansson-Fermbäck, Vemdalens IF
Michelle Kervén, Huddinge SK AF
Jonna Luthman, Åre SLK
Hilma Lövblom, Täby SLK
Emelie Henning, Järfälla AK
Liv Ceder, Sollentuna SLK
Lisa Nyberg, Åre SLK
Moa Boström-Müssener, Uppsala SLK
Hanna Aronsson-Elfman, Kils SLK

Training Group 3
Moa Clementson, Uppsala SLK
Hedda Martelleur, Uppsala SLK
Julia Digerfors, Sollentuna SLK
Melanie Dahlberg, Landskrona Ski-Club
Emma Sahlin, Sollentuna SLK
Wilma Marklund, UHSK Umeå SK

The Men’s Team – 20 riders

Training Group 1
André Myhrer, Bergsjö Hassela AK
Matts Olsson, Valfjällets SLK
Mattias Rönngren, Åre SLK
Kristoffer Jakobsen, Storklintens AK Skalp

Training Group Speed
Alexander Köll, Landskrona Ski-Club
Felix Monsén, Åre SLK

Training Group 2
Tobias Hedström, Duveds IF
Jesper Brändholm, Sälens IF
Carl Jonsson, Klövsjö Alpina
Olle Sundin, Djurgårdens IF AF
Gustav Lundbäck, Luleå AK
Tobias Windingstad, Jönköping SLK

Training Group 3
Lukas Karlberg, Alpine islands of the lake Mälaren Islands
William Hansson, Alpina of the Mälaren islands SK
Alfred Olsson, Vemdalens IF
Axel Lindqvist, Sundsvall SLK
Gustaf Lindqvist, Sundsvall SLK
William Jonsson, Klövsjö Alpina
Johan Hagberg, Avesta Alpina Club
Adam Hofstedt, Karlstad SLK

Release courtesy of the Swedish Ski Federation.

Article Tags: Top Story

What do you think?


SR Staff
May 12 2019
U.S. Ski & Snowboard Names Athletes, Coaches of the Year
Honorees to be presented with awards this week in Park City.
May 8 2019
LEKI Announces 2019 Ligety-Weibrecht Scholarship Winner
15-year-old Vermonter wins prestigious scholarship.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This