Top Story

Norwegians Magnus Moan and Mikko Kokslien won a World Cup nordic combined team sprint in Val di Fiemme, Italy today (Feb. 4) with a time of 36:25.1. Second place went to Frenchmen Maxime Laheurte and Jason Lamy Chappuis, followed by the team France II of Francois Braud and Sebastien Lacroix.

“The team sprint is probably the hardest format we have in Nordic Combined, especially on this track,” said Moan, “Our plan was to not use all our energy in the first two laps and also to close the gap to France as soon as possible and then try to take control of the leading group. The plan worked really well and we both were skiing fast.”

In the final lap, Moan skied strongly and did not leave the others a chance, making sure to have a sufficient lead before the final downhill to ensure victory for Norway I. In the final sprint, Lamy Chappuis beat France II’s Lacroix while edging German Fabien Riessle off the podium. Moan had the fastest cross-country racing time.

Americans Billy Demong and Bryan Fletcher took sixth. The team was seeded fifth after the jump, but fell one spot in the cross country race. The duo’s combined efforts helped close the gap, finishing just over 19 seconds behind Moan and Kokslien.

“It was an exciting race today with great jumping from all four guys. Both teams were in the hunt halfway through the race,” said U.S. Nordic Combined Coach Dave Jarrett. “Billy was there at the end for the podium but couldn’t quite match the short burst up the last hill and got dropped a bit. Still two in the top 10 is a good. We know we are putting ourselves in position to podium almost every weekend but haven’t had things line up quite right yet. It is coming.”

Rank Bib Name Nation Result
 1 Norway I      NOR 36:25.1
    KOKSLIEN Mikko     
    MOAN Magnus-H.     
 2 France I      FRA 36:34.7
    LAHEURTE Maxime     
    LAMY CHAPPUIS Jason     
 3 France II      FRA 36:36.1
    BRAUD Francois     
    LACROIX Sebastien     
 4 Germany I      GER 36:37.3
    FRENZEL Eric     
    RIESSLE Fabian     
 5 Japan I      JPN 36:43.4
    MINATO Yusuke     
    WATABE Akito     
 6 United States I      USA 36:44.7
    FLETCHER Bryan     
    DEMONG Bill     
 7 Norway II      NOR 36:51.6
    STORLIEN Gudmund     
    GRAABAK Joergen     
 8 Austria I      AUT 36:58.2
    DRUML Tomaz     
    GRUBER Bernhard     
 9 Germany II      GER 37:53.5
    EDELMANN Tino     
    RYDZEK Johannes     
 10 United States II      USA 38:15.5
    SPILLANE Johnny     
    FLETCHER Taylor     
 11 Finland      FIN 38:17.4
    RYYNAENEN Janne     
    HAERTULL Jim     
 12 Slovenia      SLO 38:18.5
    JELENKO Marjan     
    ORANIC Mitja     
 13 Austria II      AUT 38:50.8
    ORTER Philipp     
    STECHER Mario     
 14 Switzerland      SUI 38:51.9
    HUG Tim     
    HURSCHLER Seppi     
 15 Japan II      JPN 39:02.7
    KATO Taihei     
    WATABE Yoshito     
 16 Italy II      ITA 39:53.2
    RUNGGALDIER Mattia     
    COSTA Samuel     
 17 Russian Federation      RUS
    MASLENNIKOV Sergej     
    YAHIN Ernest     
Article Tags: Top Story
Susie Theis



Feb 4 2012
Dartmouth all but secures win at UVM Carnival
Feb 4 2012
Spence, Irwin Win Vail NorAms
Related Articles