Miller, Clark named Chevy Truck/Ski Racing skiers of the yearU.S. Ski Team stars Bode Miller and Kirsten Clark were honored for their accomplishments this season during the Chevy Truck U.S. Alpine Championships in Lake Placid, N.Y. The two led the charge in the American medals harvest at the 2003 FIS Alpine World Championships in St. Moritz, Switzerland, and partly for that reason were selected as Chevy Truck/Ski Racing U.S. Alpine Skiers of the Year.

Miller finished second in the World Cup overall and giant slalom standings this season, and took home three medals from St. Moritz — gold in GS and combined and silver in the super G. Clark was third in the World Cup downhill title standings, and won a silver medal in the World Championship super G.

Miller and Clark were teammates as junior racers at Carrabassett Valley Academy in Maine. Clark also won the Skier of the Year Award in 2001 and Bode Miller won last year. Miller’s outstanding season in 2003 had long since assured him of a repeat. “For all of you who thought this wouldn’t be possible,” Miller dead-panned to the crowd during the award ceremonies, “I’ve got nothing to say to you.”

Mac Whisner, director of advertising and sales promotion for Chevy Truck, and Ski Racing publisher Gary Black Jr. presented the awards. “I think there should be six or seven athletes of the year,” USSA CEO Bill Marolt said in a brief speech, highlighting the depth of the team this season. “These athletes support each other, and I love it. … I’ve never heard a negative thing about our team or our country this season.”

Several past recipients of the award were in the crowd for this year’s ceremony. Phil Mahre, Bill Johnson, Eva Twardokens, AJ Kitt and others were asked to stand as their names were read.

Chevy Truck/Ski Racing U.S. Alpine Skier of the Year Award

Year Men Women
1975 Greg Jones Cindy Nelson
1976 Phil Mahre Cindy Nelson
1977 Phil Mahre Abbi Fisher
1978 Phil Mahre Cindy Nelson
1979 Phil Mahre Cindy Nelson
1980 Phil Mahre Christin Cooper
1981 Steve Mahre Tamara McKinney
1982 Steve Mahre Christin Cooper
1983 Bill Johnson Cindy Nelson
1984 Bill Johnson Tamara McKinney
1985 Doug Lewis Tamara McKinney
1986 No award Pam Fletcher
1987 No award Tamara McKinney
1988 Felix McGrath Diana Golden*
1989 Felix McGrath Tamara McKinney
1990 No award Diann Roffe
1991 Phil Mahre Eva Twardokens, Julie Parisien
1992 AJ Kitt Diann Roffe-Steinrotter
1993 Tommy Moe Picabo Street
1994 Tommy Moe Diann Roffe-Steinrotter
1995 Kyle Rasmussen Picabo Street
1996 No award Picabo Street
1997 No award Hilary Lindh
1998 No award Kristina Koznick
1999 Chad Fleicher Kristina Koznick
2000 Daron Rahlves Kristina Koznick
2001 Daron Rahlves Kirsten Clark
2002 Bode Miller Kristina Koznick
2003 Bode Miller Kirsten Clark

Article Tags: Alpine



Jun 7 2004
Megan Gerety announces retirement from U.S. Ski Team
Jun 7 2004
Freestyle coach Smalley named to Colorado Hall of Fame
Related Articles