Image Credit: U.S. Ski & Snowboard

The North American Snowsports Journalists Association – East Region
has picked Abigail Jewett of Ripton, Vt., and Jimmy Krupka of Waitsfield, Vt., both
from the Green Mountain Valley School, as their 2018 Don A. Metivier Golden Ski
Award winners.

Each season, NASJA-East (formerly the Eastern Ski Writers Association) awards the
Don A. Metivier Golden Ski Award to the most promising male and female junior alpine
racers in the Eastern U.S. The awards will be presented at a reception at the New
England Ski Museum on Friday, June 8 from 5 to 7 pm.

Abigail Jewett
Jewett was the iconic slalom and giant slalom junior racer this season. She was a
member of the U.S.World Junior Championships team. In December, she garnered two
NorAm wins in slalom at Panorama in British Columbia, and followed that in January
with a bronze in GS at Stratton in Vermont. In March at Sugarbush, she
took two silvers in slalom, and a sixth place in a NorAm GS race at Kimberley in British
Columbia. She followed that up with a seventh place in slalom at Sugarloaf at the
Junior National Championships. She then finished off the season in April with slalom
gold at Stowe.

Jimmy Krupka
Krupka struggled early at NorAms in Copper, Lake Louise, and Panorama, but managed
to pull out a career-best 18th place (from bib 58) on the last day of the Panorama
NorAm series, in the slalom. He spent early January out west, where he skied the
college circuit and had three top-10s in consecutive GS races. He was selected to
represent the U.S. at World Junior Championships in Davos, Switzerland. He had
another career-best result in the NorAm Finals combined at Kimberley, BC when, after
being 28th after the super-G run, had a fast slalom run and moved up to ninth overall.
Finally, in a Sun Valley slalom, he won the second run, moving from 27th to 12th.
The season was his best yet, in all aspects, from results to fun to team dynamic. His
team, the C-Team/National Training Group/Development Team, which came to be
known as The “Shiver,” was made up of a stellar group of guys that he was proud to call

“We were coached by Justin Johnson and Graham Flinn, and the team’s
impressive results were products of our incredibly positive team atmosphere,” he said.

The Golden Ski Award has been presented to the top junior male and female skiers in
the East since 1969, the year after the modern World Cup circuit started. Many of the
Golden Ski winners have gone on to World Cup and Olympic gold as well. In 1975, the
Golden Ski was “lost.” In 2007, the New England Ski Museum was given some
artifacts, and in that donation was the original Golden Ski. ESWA revitalized the honor,
and named it in memory of long-time snow-sports journalist Don A. Metivier, former
editor of Ski Racing Magazine.

“The Golden Ski Award is the oldest honor given to junior alpine ski racers that exists today,” says Jim Gregory, Chair of the NASJA-East Golden Ski Award Committee. “We are proud this year to honor Abigail Jewett and Jimmy Krupka, two extraordinary athletes, and we look forward to watching them pursue their goals and set the bar even higher in the sport we all love so much.”

Here is the list of previous Golden Ski Award Winners:
1969: Tyler Palmer, Karen Middleton
1970: Charles Bent, Karen Middleton
1971: Rod Taylor, Judy McNealus
1972: Laurent Gaudin, Jody Palmer
1973: Jerry McNealus, No female winner
1974: No award
1975: Scott Light, Holly Flanders
1976-2007: Award Lost
2008: Bump Heldman, Julia Ford
2009: Nolan Kasper, Julia Ford
2010: Ryan Cochran-Siegle, Julia Ford
2011: Ryan Cochran-Siegle, Mikaela Shiffrin
2012: Ryan Cochran-Siegle, Mikaela Shiffrin
2013: Kieffer Christianson, Mikaela Shiffrin
2014: Sam Morse, Alice Merryweather
2015: Drew Duffy, Nina O’Brien
2016: Ben Ritchie, Cecily Decker
2017: George Steffey, Patricia Mangan

Release courtesy of North American Snowsports Journalists Association – East Region

Article Tags: Top Story



SR Staff
May 12 2018
BRASS Foundation Educates U.S. Ski & Snowboard Athletes and Staff at Snowbird
Chodounsky, a veteran alpine athlete and two-time Olympian, took advantage of the training opportunity this spring.
May 9 2018
Squaw Valley Academy Announces 2018 Travis Ganong Scholarship Winner
The scholarship is a partnership with the World Cup alpine skier and previous student.
Related Articles