Image Credit: CU Athletics

The University of Colorado has been selected to host the 2018 NCAA National Championships in Steamboat Springs, Colo., the NCAA national office announced Tuesday.

“We are excited to put together another great championship,” CU head coach Richard Rokos said. “Steamboat Springs has such a great history with the NCAA Championships and other elite level skiing. We will look to improve upon the quality championships we put together over the years and as recent as just two seasons ago.”

The championships will take place March 7-10, 2018, with the nordic races and the slalom race being decided at Howelsen Hill and the giant slalom on Mount Werner. A staple of the 2006, 2010 and 2016 NCAA Championships were night slalom races on Howelsen Hill and CU anticipates that exciting tradition continuing in 2018.

“We want to thank everyone who submitted a bid for this cycle of championship site selections and for their continued commitment during the process,” said Joni Comstock, NCAA senior vice president of championships. “We look forward to working with our membership, the cities and local organizing committees who may host for the first time, as well as the groups who will repeat as host sites. I also want to acknowledge and thank the sports committees that reviewed these exceptional bids and made the selections based on providing the best possible experience for our student-athletes, coaches and spectators.”

Howelsen Hill and Steamboat Springs boast a remarkable skiing heritage. Howelsen Hill is Colorado’s oldest continuously operated ski area, opening in 1915, and has been the training ground for more than 88 Olympians making over 130 Winter Olympic appearances, 15 members of the Colorado Ski Hall of Fame and six members of the National Ski Hall of Fame.

This will be the eighth time Steamboat Springs will play host to the NCAA Championships. The championships were also held there in 1968, 1969, 1979, 1993, 2006, 2010 and 2016. This will mark the fifth time the Buffaloes will host the championships in Steamboat Springs and the Buffs won two of their 20 championships there in 1979 and 2006.

As part of the NCAA announcement Tuesday, they also released the championships sites through 2022. The University of Vermont will host in 2019, Montana State University will host in 2020, Middlebury College will host in 2021 and University of Utah will host in 2o22.

Release from CU Athletics

Article Tags: Continental Cup/NCAA, Top Rotator, Top Story

What do you think?


SR Staff
Apr 19 2017
Team Summit Colorado hires new executive director
The new hire will replace Jerry Karl.
Apr 18 2017
Points are not the only criterion of a successful season
You don't need to be devastated if you didn't lower your points this season.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This