Beginning in 1975, the editorial board of Ski Racing Media has come together each spring to choose one male and one female athlete deserving to hold the title of Ski Racing Media Junior of the Year.

Over the past 44 years, Ski Racing’s picks have gone on to earn 227 World Cup wins, 42 World Championship medals, as well as 16 Olympic medals. The list of past winners reads as a who’s-who of American ski racing and includes the likes of three-time Overall Women’s World Cup champion Mikaela Shiffrin, Lindsey Vonn, Ted Ligety, Julia Mancuso, Tamara McKinney, and Steve Mahre, among many, many others.

The athletes chosen by Ski Racing truly embody the spirit of the award and have not only achieved impressive success on the slopes this season, but have inspired countless racers across the country with their professional attitudes off of them.

The 2019 recipients of the Ski Racing Media Junior of the Year Award are River Radamus and AJ Hurt.


This is Radamus’ second Ski Racing Junior of the Year award in a row. After making his World Cup debut last season in Beaver Creek, Radamus entered the 2019 season as the reigning NorAm Overall champion, ready to make his mark at the highest level of the sport. In just his seventh career World Cup start, the Colorado native finished 24th in the fabled Alta Badia giant slalom for his first World Cup points. Radamus kept that momentum rolling into World Junior Championships in February where he won gold in both super-G and GS, as well as helping team USA to a silver medal in the team event. Radamus’ success on the slopes and hard work off of them makes him a deserving recipient of this year’s award.


This season Hurt has earned World Cup starting spots in four disciplines – the downhill, the super-G, the giant slalom, and the combined – as a top finisher on the NorAm circuit. She finished second in the overall standings of the NorAm Cup and has started in five World Cup giant slalom races and one World Cup slalom. She contributed to the United State’s team event silver at World Juniors and raked in two top ten finishes in the downhill and the giant slalom in Val di Fassa. All in all, Hurt’s drive to succeed is apparent in her skiing. She lays it all out there every time she pushes out of the start gate, and it’s only a matter of time before she starts making big moves at the World Cup level.

AJ Hurt races the combined super-G at the 2019 U.S. National Alpine Championships at Sugarloaf, Maine. Photo © Jamie Walter // @jwalter1337

Ski Racing Media Juniors of the Year

1975 –  Leslie Leete Smith          Steve Mahre

1976 –  Christin Cooper              Eric Wilson

1977 –  Heidi Preuss                    David Stapleton

1978 –  Tamara McKinney         Scott Hoffman

1979 –  Tamara McKinney         Mike Farney

1980 –  Noel Lyons                      Mark Tache

1981 –  Brenda Buglione             Tiger Shaw

1982 –  Eva Twardokens             Steve Hegg

1983 –  Eva Twardokens             Jesse Hunt

1984 –  Diann Roffe                     Jesse Hunt

1985 –  Carter Payne                    Tim Curran

1986 –  Hilary Lindh/Krista Schmidinger

1987 –  Sally Knight                      Tommy Moe

1988 –  Heidi Voelker                  Jeremy Nobis

1989 –  Kim Schmidinger           Tommy Moe

1990 –  Julie Parisien                  Ryan North

1991 –  Kathrine Davenport       Paul Casey Puckett

1992 –  Kathrine Davenport      Michael Makar

1993 –  Kristina Koznick            Chip Knight

1994 –  Kjersti Bjorn-Roli          Forest Carey

1995 –  Sarah Schleper               Wisi Betschart

1996 –  Kirsten Clark                  Justin Johnson

1997 –  Jonna Mendes                John Minahan

1998 –  Jonna Mendes                Brad Hogan

1999 – Caroline Lalive                Marco Sullivan

2000 –  Julia Mancuso               Marco Sullivan

2001 –  Julia Mancuso                Jake Zamansky

2002 –  Julia Mancuso               Steven Nyman

2003 –  Julia Mancuso               Jeremy Transue

2004 – Lindsey Kildow              Ted Ligety

2005 –  Resi Stiegler                   Tim Jitloff

2006 –  Megan McJames          Christopher Beckmann

2007 –  Leanne Smith                Will Brandenburg

2008 – Kiley Staples                  Tommy Ford

2009 – Julia Ford                       Tommy Ford

2010 –  Mikaela Shiffrin            Will Gregorak

2011 –  Mikaela Shiffrin             Ryan Cochran-Siegle

2012 –  Mikaela Shiffrin            Ryan Cochran-Siegle

2013 –  Mikaela Shiffrin            Ryan Cochran-Siegle

2014 –  Mikeala Shiffrin

2015 –  Mikaela Shiffrin           AJ Ginnis

2016 –  Mikaela Shiffrin           Erik Arvidsson

2017 –  Alice Merryweather/Breezy Johnson     Sam Morse

2018-  Patricia Mangan           River Radamus

2019-  AJ Hurt                          River Radamus

Article Tags: Alpine, Premium Juniors, Top Rotator

What do you think?


Sean Higgins and Mackenzie Moran
Mar 29 2019
The Secret Recipe to Ski Racing’s Best Self
In Vermont, at Ascutney mountain, a grassrootsy movement is afoot and it's bringing back the pure and simple love of skiing.
Mar 27 2019
Tips and Tales: World Cup Wrap-Up with NBC's Steve Porino
With World Cup racing finished for the season, NBC's Steve Porino sat down with us to look back at another exciting winter.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This