The Eastern Ski Writers Association (ESWA) has awarded Mikaela Shiffrin and Ryan Cochran-Siegle with the 2012 Don A. Metivier Golden Ski  Award. This is Shiffrin’s second and Cochran-Siegle’s third consecutive win. The winners will be officially recognized at the New England Ski Museum in Franconia, NH on June 1, during a 5-7 p.m. ET ceremony. The Golden Ski Award has been presented to the top male and female skiers in the East since 1969. Don Metivier was editor and publisher of Ski Racing Magazine.

Shiffrin earned an Audi FIS Alpine World Cup slalom podium this winter with third in Lienz, Austria and defended her U.S. slalom title at the Nature Valley U.S. Alpine Championships in Winter Park, Colo.

Cochran-Siegle scored World Cup super G points in Beaver Creek, Colo. and won gold medals in downhill and combined at the 2012 Junior World Championships in Roccaraso, Italy.

Shiffrin photo by Tom Kelly courtesy of US Ski Team

Article Tags: Alpine , FSR , Top Story
Hank McKee
Senior Editor
Apr 24 2012
Zoricic family says course design contributed to Nik's death
Apr 23 2012
Jaquet named to head USSA marketing

What do you think?


Related Articles