FILE UNDER -- Nordic

Ramsau NC: Norwegians Tande, Moan win

Ramsau NC: Norwegians Tande, Moan win{mosimage}RAMSAU, Austria – Petter Tande and Magnus Moan gave Norway two World Cup victories Sunday in Nordic combined events.

Tande jumped 100 meters in his second effort to win the morning’s event. He was 14th after Saturday’s 10-kilometer cross-country race, but the second of his two jumps secured his first World Cup win with 251.5 points.

Ronny Ackermann of Germany was second with 241 points and Moan third with 237. Kristian Hammer of Norway, who led after the cross-country race, finished fourth with 235 points.

The competition was completed Sunday after strong winds and heavy snow forced organizers to postpone the two jumps.

In the afternoon, Moan was 12th in the single ski-jumping portion but powered ahead to win the 7.5-kilometer sprint in 20 minutes, 21.4 seconds, 0.8 seconds ahead of another Norwegian, Ola Morten Graesli. It was Moan’s third World Cup win.

Jason Lamy Chappuis of France was third, 0.9 seconds behind the winner.
Hannu Manninen of Finland retained the overall lead after six of 21 events with 419 points. Tande is second at 309 and Moan third at 290.

– The Associated Press

Nordic combined World Cup results
1. Petter Tande, Norway, 251.5 points.
2. Ronny Ackermann, Germany, 241.
3. Magnus Moan, Norway, 237.
4. Kristian Hammer, Norway, 235.
5. Christoph Bieler, Austria, 231.5.
6. Hannu Manninen, Finland, 230.2.
7. Mario Stecher, Austria, 227.5.
8. Willi Denifl, Austria, 226.5.
9. Daito Takahashi, Japan, 223.
10. Janne Ryynaenen, Finland, 217.

One ski jump, 7.5-kilometer sprint
1. Magnus Moan, Norway, 20 minutes, 21.4 seconds.
2. Ola Morten Graesli, Norway, .8 seconds behind.
3. Jason Lamy Chappuis, France, .9.
4. Georg Hettich, Germany, 1.0.
5. Ican Rieder, Switzerland, 16.9.
6. Petter Tande, Norway, 38.5.
7. Christoph Bieler, Austria, 41.6.
8. Havard Klemetsen, Norway, 48.1.
9. Hannu Manninen, Finland, 51.0.
10. Kristian Hammer, Norway, 55.3.

Overall standings
(After 6 of 21 events)

1. Hannu Manninen, Finland, 419 points.
2. Petter Tande, Norway, 309.
3. Magnus Moan, Norway, 290.
4. Ronny Ackermann, Germany, 257.
5. Georg Hettich, Germany, 226.
6. Mario Stecher, Austria, 222.
7. Felix Gottwald, Austria, 201.
8. Anssi Koivuranta, Finland, 188.
(tie) Jason Lamy Chappuis, France, 188.
10. Todd Lodwick, United States, 183.

What do you think?


In-Depth Analysis:

Join Today!

Train Like a Pro in France

An exclusive 36-hour guide to summer camp life at Europe’s largest skiable glacier.

Step Away from the Skis and Pick up a Baseball Bat
How playing the field pays off in ski racing and other pursuits

Mammas, don’t let your babies grow up to be single-sport specialists.

Don’t Get Happy
The real story behind those 2015 Rookie Camp grins

Last month, I gathered with some of the most successful ski racers and snowboarders in the country on the eve of the annual Rookie Camp.
Welcome to Skiracing.com's Mobile Site!