FILE UNDER -- Nordic

Oslo ski jump: Poland's Malysz breaks long winless drought

Oslo ski jump: Poland’s Malysz breaks long winless drought{mosimage}OSLO, Norway – Former World Cup and world champion Adam Malysz of Poland won his first World Cup meet in more than 13 months Sunday — and almost 10 years to day of his first victory, also at Holmenkollen — as he defeated Olympic champion Thomas Morgenstern of Austria in the season’s final large hill by 2.1 points. American Clint Jones was 34th.

Malysz, whose first of his 29 World Cup wins came March 17, 1996, at Holmenkollen and his last came in January 2005 at Zakopane, Poland, jumped 130.5 and 124.5 meters in erratic winds, compiling 279.0 points. Morgenstern jumped 129 and 124 m for 276.9 while teammate and first-round leader Martin Koch, after a 133.5 m jump, dropped to sixth overall with a final jump of 118.5 meters on the HS128 hill.

The World Cup schedule concludes next weekend with two ski-flying events in Planica, Slovenia.


What do you think?


In-Depth Analysis:

Join Today!

Sienna vs. Subaru: The Top 10 Cars for Ski Racing Families

So what if we can’t all drive around in Audis like World Cup stars?

Bring Out the Bling - Who won big at the 2015 USSA End-of-Season Awards

Here’s a closer look at the esteemed list for 2015.

Global Warning: Who Should We Be Watching Out For?

National championships for Austria, Switzerland, Norway, Italy, France and Slovenia reveal rising stars.
Welcome to Skiracing.com's Mobile Site!