US women’s coach Alex Hoedlmoser received the Leonidas Award as coach of the year in ceremonies Friday in Salzburg, Austria. Hoedlmoser said the awards are presented by the newspaper “Salzburger Nachrichten.”  The awardees are qualified by an on-line vote and then presented to a final jury.

Along with the award for coach of the year were those for athlete of the year, rookie of the year and for lifetime achievement. Winning in those categories were Marlies Schild, Marcel Hirscher and Petra Kronberger. Gepa photo.

Article Tags: Alpine , FSR , Top Story
Hank McKee
Senior Editor
The veteran of the staff, McKee started with Ski Racing in 1980. Over the seasons he has covered virtually every aspect of the sport, from the pro tours to junior racing, freestyle and World Cup alpine competition. He has written the first national stories for many U.S. team stars, and was still around to report on their retirements. “Longevity has its rewards,” he says, “but it’s a slow process.”
Mar 31 2012
Lindsey Vonn to undergo double knee MRI exams on Monday
Mar 30 2012
Julia Mancuso, Dustin Cook take U.S. super G titles

What do you think?


Related Articles