FILE UNDER -- Freestyle

Bloom and Vogtli top the podium in Japan

Bloom and Vogtli top the podium in Japan{mosimage}INAWASHIRO, Japan (Feb. 5) – Former World Cup champion Jeremy Bloom (Loveland, CO) won his third consecutive World Cup event Saturday, capturing a moguls contest as U.S. skiers flooded four of the top six men’s places. In the women’s competition, Olympian Jillian Vogtli (Ellicotville, NY) won the first World Cup of her career with Hannah Kearney (Norwich, VT) earning her fourth podium of the season.

Bloom had 25.32 points for his run and Australian Dale Begg-Smith was second at 24.43. Travis Cabral (South Lake Tahoe, CA), who succeeded Bloom in 2003 as the World Cup moguls champion, finished fourth with Dave Babic (Washington, VT) fifth and Toby Dawson (Vail, CO) sixth.

Vogtli, the current U.S. moguls national champion, won with 23.47 points with Austrian Margaret Marbler second (23.02) and Kearney in third at 22.91.

The World Cup continues Sunday with dual moguls.

Inawashiro, JPN – Feb. 5, 2005
(16 make finals)
Men’s Moguls
1. Jeremy Bloom, Loveland, Colo., 25.32 points
2. Dale Begg-Smith, Australia, 24.43
3. Osamu Uero, Japan, 23.87
4. Travis Cabral, South Lake Tahoe, Calif., 23.54
5. Dave Babic, Washington, Vt., 23.52

6. Toby Dawson, Vail, Colo., 23.12
10. Nate Roberts, Park City, Utah, 21.86

Women’s Moguls
1. Jillian Vogtli, Ellicotville, N.Y., 23.47
2. Margaret Marbler, Austria, 23.02
3. Hannah Kearney, Norwich, Vt., 22.91
4. Stephanie St. Pierre, Canada, 22.44
5. Tae Satoya, Japan, 22.37

16. Laurel Shanley, Squaw Valley, Calif., 14.02
21. Emiko Torito, Denver
28. Michelle Roark, Denver

-USSA reports

What do you think?


In-Depth Analysis:

Join Today!

Train Like a Pro in France

An exclusive 36-hour guide to summer camp life at Europe’s largest skiable glacier.

Step Away from the Skis and Pick up a Baseball Bat
How playing the field pays off in ski racing and other pursuits

Mammas, don’t let your babies grow up to be single-sport specialists.

Don’t Get Happy
The real story behind those 2015 Rookie Camp grins

Last month, I gathered with some of the most successful ski racers and snowboarders in the country on the eve of the annual Rookie Camp.
Welcome to Skiracing.com's Mobile Site!