FILE UNDER -- Alpine // Top Story

Austria names 20 alpine skiers to 2014-15 National Team

Austrian Ski Team at 2014 World Cup Finals. GEPA/Wolfgang Grebien

Austrian Ski Team at 2014 World Cup Finals. GEPA/Wolfgang Grebien

The Austrian Ski Team announced its alpine nominations for the 2014-15 season, and it will carry a total of 20 skiers on the most prestigious National Team squad including Marcel Hirscher, Mario Matt, Matthias Mayer, Hannes Reichelt, Anna Fenninger, and the Schild sisters, among other World Cup standouts.

Otmar Striedinger, who podiumed in last season’s super G at Beaver Creek, collected three more top-10 results on the World Cup, and finished fifth at the Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, has been promoted to the National Team along with Regina Sterz who amassed three top-10 World Cup finishes. Meanwhile, Romed Baumann, Marcel Mathis, Joachim Puchner, and Philipp Schoerghofer were all demoted to the A-Squad for failing to meet required standards.

Men’s Team

National Team: Max Franz, Marcel Hirscher, Klaus Kroell, Mario Matt, Matthias Mayer, Benjamin Raich, Hannes Reichelt, Georg Streitberger, Otmar Striedinger

A-Squad: Romed Baumann, Frederic Berthold, Markus Duerager, Manuel Feller, Reinfried Herbst, Vincent Kriechmayr, Marcel Mathis, Christoph Noesig, Joachim Puchner, Florian Scheiber, Philipp Schoerghofer, Patrick Schweiger.

B-Squad: Stefan Brennsteiner, Daniel Danklmaier, Clemens Dorner, Daniel Hemetsberger, Mario Karelly, Niklas Koeck, Thomas Krautschneider, Johannes Kroell, Roland Leitinger, Hannes Lengauer-Stockner, Michael Matt, Thomas Mayrpeter, Daniel Meier, Christopher Neumayer, Clemens Nocker, Michael Offenhauser, Marco Schwarz, Johannes Strolz, Magnus Walch, Christian Walder, Paul Zimmermann.

C-Squad: Manuel Annewanter, Christian Borgnaes. Mathias Graf, Fabio Gstrein, Thomas Hettegger, Marco Ladner, Maximilian Lahnsteiner, Adrian Pertl, Martin Pitterle, Dominik Raschner, Fabian Zeiringer.

Women’s Team

National Team: Eva-Maria Brem, Anna Fenninger, Andrea Fischbacher, Elisabeth Goergl, Nicole Hosp, Michaela Kirchgasser, Bernadette Schild, Marlies Schild, Nicole Schmidhofer, Regina Sterz, Kathrin Zettel.

A-Squad: Christina Ager, Alexandra Daum, Cornelia Huetter, Stefanie Moser, Mirjam Puchner, Ramona Siebenhofer, Carmen Thalmann, Stephanie Venier.

B-Squad: Stephanie Brunner, Julia Dygruber, Ricarda Haaser, Hanna Hofer, Elisabeth Kappaurer, Hannah Koeck, Sabrina Maier, Kerstin Nicolussi, Nina Ortlieb, Ariane Raedler, Elisabeth Reisinger, Lisa Maria Reiss, Christine Scheyer, Rosina Schneeberger, Tamara Tippler, Katharina Truppe, Lisa Maria Zeller.

C-Squad: Dajana Dengscherz, Katharina Gallhuber, Franziska Gritsch, Michaela Heider, Katharina Huber, Katharina Liensberger, Chiara Mair, Stephanie Resch, Martina Rettenwender, Pia Schmid, Theresa Steinlechner, Claudia Stueckler, Lena Thalmann, Bianca Venier, Pauline Wirth.

SR Staff

What do you think?


In-Depth Analysis:

Join Today!

Train Like a Pro in France

An exclusive 36-hour guide to summer camp life at Europe’s largest skiable glacier.

Step Away from the Skis and Pick up a Baseball Bat
How playing the field pays off in ski racing and other pursuits

Mammas, don’t let your babies grow up to be single-sport specialists.

Don’t Get Happy
The real story behind those 2015 Rookie Camp grins

Last month, I gathered with some of the most successful ski racers and snowboarders in the country on the eve of the annual Rookie Camp.
Welcome to Skiracing.com's Mobile Site!