2005-06 British Alpine Ski Team announced{mosimage}
SnowsportGB, the national governing body for skiing and snowboarding in Great Britain, has announced the selection of The British Land Alpine Ski Team for the 2005-06 season. This is the first selection under the new policy devised by Performance Director Mark Tilston, where athletes are judged in relation to the world’s best rather than their ranking.

There are five changes from last season. On the girls team, young Scots Pamela Thorburn and Lynn Sharp step down into the Development Squad along with English athlete Katrina Head. In the men’s team, Dougie Crawford, 18, graduates from the Development Squad and Tristan Glass Davies will return to this programme.

Commenting on the results of the new policy, Mark Tilston stated, ‘The new level of criteria responds to the increasing performance levels of our skiers that we have seen in the last years and foresee in the near future due to the commitment and work by the athletes. It is always difficult when some athletes do not meet criteria. However, as a sport alpine skiing is getting tougher and we have to respond in our concentration on our athletes with proven performances while developing our structure to support the young athletes that are coming through the system.’

Pre-season training has already started in Lofer, Austria. The full team can be seen below.

The British Land Alpine Ski Team – Men

Alain Baxter
Noel Baxter
Finlay Mickel
James Leuzinger
Roger Cruickshank
James Edwards
Douglas Crawford
Ed Drake
Jan-Michael Kochalski
Andy Noble

Chemmy Alcott
Joanna Greig

-press release

Article Tags: Alpine

What do you think?


May 11 2005
May 10 2005
FIS Spring Calendar Conference Highlights
Related Articles